Little Red Socks

Nothing new to share today, so why not something old? Robert’s cousin Crystal has graciously agreed to photograph my knitting projects and, as you can see, she has a knack for capturing candid little details. You can see more of her gorgeous photography here. After shooting these socks, I realized the blog needed a new look. Someday I’ll learn more about web design, perhaps build my own website from scratch. But for now I’m fine with picking out a sassy pre-fab template.

Last year I made this dainty pair of red socks for Robert’s mom, following the “Twilight” pattern in Melissa Morgan-Oakes’s book 2-At-A-Time Socks. The two-at-a-time method allows the knitter to complete two socks (or gloves, leg warmers, mittens, maybe sleeves too…) simultaneously.

photo by Crystal Tan

 It’s been a while since I’ve wrangled a project using the two-at-a-time method; I forgot about the squirrely beginning. For Christmas I am making some items using the two-at-a-time method.  I thought I would be further along, but I am stubbornly knitting with needles that I bought at a yard sale – an old nickel-plated pair of Boye needles with cable like a mattress spring. If you want to try the method for yourself, you will definitely want to get a pair of circulars with a pliant cable. A softer cable makes transitioning between socks less of a battle and reduces laddering. Because the cable on my circular needles is so stiff and springy, the sock “on deck” gets stretched out while I’m knitting the sock “at bat”. When combined with the slickness of nickel-plated tips, the stitches tend to jump off the needles. It’s maddening but as I add more rows to each sock, it gets easier to keep consistent tension as the cable has less room to move around. Also, it helps to keep your yarn in separate containers to avoid giant, yarny knots. My current project involves a little colorwork, so I keep the balls for each article in separate ziplock bags and easily untwist the strands by shuffling the bags around. Ziplock bags have the added benefit of keeping the yarn pristine for the duration of the project.

One thought on “Little Red Socks

  1. Glad you are back knitting and also employed. Sunny California does not have as many knitting days as Oregon, but it is a great place to live. You will enjoy. I like the little red socks, but your description of how to knit two at a time left my head spinning and a firm vow not to try that. Take care and we send love to you and Robert. GMM

Leave a Reply

