Spiral Rib Leg Warmers

Good evening!

It’s been a long day and it’s not over yet! I just finished my shift at Talbots but I have an employee inservice at Williams Sonoma tonight. So, I’m just sitting at a coffee shop, soaking up the Wi-Fi. I know it’s not cheap, but it’s much more economical than wandering the mall for hours, convincing myself that I need to buy a ____________ . In the interim, I thought I would share with you another project I finished a couple weeks ago, but did not document until recently.

When Robert’s mom came to visit in January, she asked me to make her a pair of legwarmers for her tango class. (Only if you twist my arm!) So we hurried to the yarn store and I picked out a lovely cashmerino aran from Debbie Bliss in a matte black. I combed the internet for a pattern and finally settled on this one from the Purl Bee.

photo from the Purl Bee

Like most of my knitted adventures, I grossly underestimated the amount of time it would take to complete this project. While the pattern itself is simple –  a two-by-two ribbing that shifts to the right one stitch every three rounds – it is not very interesting. Compounded with the drear of knitting something in black yarn, small wonder these leg warmers took several months to complete. This project would have been a good candidate for the two-at-a-time method.

Anyhoo, after a 11-month gestation period, here they are!

photo by Crystal Tan

They might have been boring to make, but they’re so much more practical.  What’s more classic than black?

photo by Crystal Tan

 Leg warmers always remind me of Clydesdales.

pony in natural leg warmers

pony in actual leg warmers

2 thoughts on “Spiral Rib Leg Warmers

  1. Another great project finished! That is what I enjoy….a finished project. Great to see you and Robert. Sounds like you are going to be a very busy young lady this season. Love from Grandma Mooney

Leave a Reply

