Red, White and Blue

Weeks ago I knitted a couple gnomes but I can’t remember how that came about. I began with simple gnome pattern I found on Ravelry, and added some of my own modifications. Rather than knitting in flesh tone, I knitted the hat, beard and the blue part (tunic? onesie? jumpsuit? really, what kind of garment do gnomes wear?) added a small piece of flesh tone felt with little facial details and satin stitched a beard,  to better integrate the face into the  stockinette background. One gnome has plastic toy eyes, the other has emroidered eyes . . . I think the plastic eyes look more finished, but it was fun to make a wee angry gnome.

A couple weeks ago I watched Gnomeo and Juliet per my mom’s reccomendation – such a cute movie! I didn’t expect to laugh-out-loud, but I got such a kick out of whimsical garden figurines – figurines you might see around your own neighborhood – racing lawnmowers and feuding.  If you need a kid-appropriate  movie to keep your holiday guests entertained, Gnomeo and Juliet is a great flick.  

3 thoughts on “Red, White and Blue

  1. I did not know there were grumpy gnomes. I liked both and as usual I am amazed at what you can knit. Love and prayers from your GmM

Leave a Reply

