Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace

After we watched all available episodes of Downton Abbey, Ariel and I sat down and watched BBC’s  Pride and Prejudice the one with Colin Firth. I saw it at the library on my day off, how lucky is that?! I’ve never seen it in any public library, let alone both DVDs at the same time, so I had to check it out.

Lately we’ve been feeling pretty inspired by the rich palettes and soft textures found in these British romantic sagas. So, a couple nights ago, Ariel surprised me with a wonderful birthday gift: Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace. Dreamy, delicate lace patterns inspired by Jane Austen’s leading ladies.

Right now, I’m struggling with a swatch for the Bobble Edged Shrug. My first couple rows are all funky . . . I did a few too many yarn overs on the RS (right side), which means I didn’t even know it was so screwy until I was back on the RS. This pattern is going to be a challenge for me because the only other lace I’ve done was for the Ruffled Kerchief. For that lace motif, you do all your PSSOs, K2TOGs, SL1 and whatnot on the right side, and then purl all stitches on the wrong side. So, you get a break from thinking on every other row.

Anyway, once it’s done it should look like this:

Yes, I am still working on my big, green sweater. I can already tell I’m going to need a bland, stockinette oasis when this lace project gets too complicated.

3 thoughts on “Debbie Bliss Rialto Lace

  1. The shrug looks great, but a whole lot of thinking going on! I am back working on a scarf with the intricate pattern of the garter stitch. It will be 2 1/2 inches wide and it looks like it could be 5 or 6 feet long. Love from GMM

    • I think I might leave out the bobbles . . . I haven’t calculated, but, I think each bobble uses up close to 12″ of yarn.
      What color is your scarf? I would love knit a scarf, but it is so dang hot!

      • The scarf is red varigated thread, and I think I just messed it up! Can you believe that? I did not like so much of the varigated red as it was a dark color, so I cut the thread thinking I would pick it back up at the pretty red. Well, we will see how that works. More later! PS do not mention “to dang hot!” as we are fogged in and yesterday we had 2.27 inches of rain here while in Eugene they had many inches of snow!!!

Leave a Reply

