Yarn Crawl & Catch-up

Whew, what a weekend! While things have been silent here,  I’ve been busy blogging away over at the Culture of Crafting, in order to stir up a frenzy for Yarn Crawl L.A. County. I meant to take some pictures, but of course, I got caught up in the excitement of the weekend and have no real way of showing you how crazy I truly am. Well, except this photo:

On Thursday, after meeting with some of Robert’s buddies for pizza at Pizzeria Mozza, we managed to do some yarn crawling.  Friday was spent with lovely ladies at Knit Culture Studio including Laura Lundy of Slipped Stitch Studios whose business story is a complete inspiration to me. Next year I will definitely yarn crawl all four days!

Although we only hit three out of twenty-some-odd stores, we were awarded free goodies from Knit Culture, Wildfiber and Jennifer Knits, and got to meet some really nice knitters and small business owners like Heather Walpole of Ewe Ewe Yarn. I truly look forward to seeing their businesses grow and prosper because of this event. I picked up two skeins of Shibui  in a deep, dark green and some lofty cashmere tweed at huge discount.  As one of the only male yarn crawl attendees, Robert got lots of attention from yarny ladies. (As if he needed any more attention from yarny ladies!)

In the meantime, I’m still working on the same knitting projects:

– The Bobble Edge Shrug will probably be made sans-bobbles to save on yarn. Each bleepin’ bobble uses about eleven inches of yarn!   I know that’s not really in the spirit of hand-knitted treasures, but I don’t think I’ll be able to find another ball of this ultra-soft alpaca in the same shade of lavender.

The swatch below shows one full pattern repeat with bobbles, and one without. What do you think?

-I still need to finish the I-cord trim on my French Press cosy so I can write up a pattern.

– The back section of my green sweater is almost done. I guess. The directions were originally in Norwegian, which may account for the extreme brevity. I’m not sure if I’m doing it right, but I’m plowing ahead. (Again, not in the spirit of handknitting.) I know I’ll be so pleased to have finished it that I’ll wear it even if it looks a bit funny.

There’s no way it can be any frumpier than other things I’ve been caught wearing. . . .



2 thoughts on “Yarn Crawl & Catch-up

  1. You look good in wide brimmed hats! As for the bobble, well, to bobble or not is a good question, but the lack of yarn in that color kind of helps with the decision. I like it both ways. (What a help I am) Love GMM

    • Ah, thanks! That hat needs a little help now; the brim droops and now it’s kind of like wearing a bucket on your head. Not sure how I’m going to fix that . . .
      It seems more practical – and frugal! – to make the pattern fit the yarn amount.So, I think I will go bobble-less. xoxo

Leave a Reply

