Just keep knitting, just keep knitting . . .

Carson by Romi Hill

It’s been way too long since my last post. So much has happened in that time, but I don’t think it’s worth recapitulating. Now only the most distilled experiences of last year will be related to you as fun and pertinent anecdotes.

I took a break from knitting a couple weeks ago, but I am back at it. I love my job, but it is very stressful. After we returned from  the TNNA winter trade show and Stitches West, I was on yarn/fiber/knitting overwhelm. I had to put all of my crafting supplies out of sight, because just looking at yarn reminded me of all the work ahead.

But it was just a brief knitting hiatus, and I am back at it. Right now I’m knitting “Carson” by Romi Hill in two broody colors of Neighborhood Fiber Co. Studio Sock. (The clicking action on my orange counter is so satisfying, but I have to fight the urge to click it unnecessarily because it only goes in one direction. )

I survived Yarn Crawl LA 2013, but I don’t want sum up this event, or my experience as an event planner in general, before securing all the loose ends. However, I will say this: at one point all I “needed” was a festive noisemaker of some kind to complete my to-do list. I stood transfixed in Daiso, unable to choose between jingle bells or some whistling-hammer-thingy. It felt to me like everything was riding on this detail.  I can’t tell if this illustrates one of the seven habits of highly effective event planners, or why I should not be put in charge of planning stuff.

Leave a Reply

