Granny Squares

granny squares

I don’t usually crochet because 1) I can’t make anything wearable out of crochet and 2) it uses up 20% more yarn than knitting. But I have a vision of a crocheted afghan, inspired by sunflowers. Or a laptop case. Or maybe a set of coasters. I should probably calculate how much yarn I’ll need, but why let reality interfere with a perfectly delightful idea?

For this project I wanted something simple and  floral. I found a great photo tutorial for these sunburst granny squares on Wise Craft. After playing around with different stitch combinations, I settled on a granny square made of half-double crochet (top) rather than double crochet (bottom). Using half doubles you wind up with a petite yet dense granny square.

However, my squares are a little sloppy on account of how I’m joining each round and changing colors. It’s not that big of a deal, but more research needs to be done before I can add my granny squares to the vast and colorful sea of granny squares on  Pinterest.

One thought on “Granny Squares

  1. Oh Emma! How beautiful! I think a granny laptop case would look beautiful in these granny squares. Please post the final outcome 🙂
    Miss you!
    Ru

Leave a Reply

